查尔斯顿海军造船厂 – 自由径站与老Ironsides

Charlestown Navy Yard

查尔斯顿海军造船厂 – 在自由之路

选择你的语言自动翻译:

EnglishEspañolFrançaisDeutschItalianoDansk中文(简体)中文(漢字)日本語한국어PortuguêsTürkçeالعربية

 

 

由于美国的海军设施 1800

在查尔斯顿海军造船厂是家里的宪法号, 号卡辛年轻的, 前两个干船坞,在美国的一个, 和宪法号博物馆.

大乐趣. 为几个小时的访问计划.

博物馆是免费的, 捐赠要求

打开 9-5 每日. 封闭的圣诞节, 元旦和感恩

国家公园服务网站

官方查尔斯顿海军造船厂网站

国家公园管理处海事历史网站

宪法号博物馆网站

博物馆电话: (617) 426-1812(617) 426-1812

公共交通: 绿色或橙色线北站 (在波士顿正确). 替代, 93 公共汽车站邦克山沙利文.

计划至少一个小时的海军造船厂走马观. 如果来访的海军造船厂与宪法, 计划 2+ 小时.

背景资料

在 1800, 政府购买土地莫尔顿的查尔斯顿海军造船厂点, 并成立了院子里此后不久,. (莫尔顿的点是在英军攻击爱国者降落在邦克山战役。) 在 1814, 院子里推出该行的美国第一船, 美国海军独立.

在内战中看到多个海军造船厂船舶服务 – 然而, 它主要是修复和储存设施,直到1890年. 当时, 它开始建造钢壳船.

海军造船厂在二战期间达到其高度的活动, 就业高峰 1943 的 50,128 男女 – 日以继夜地工作, 7 本周天. 院子里再盖 130 与英亩 86 建筑物和 3.5 百万平方尺楼面面积. 还增加了第二个干船坞.

在此期间的高峰期, 海军造船厂可以建立一个四个月的护航驱逐舰和地表温度 (坦克登陆艇) 在不到四个星期. 整体, 之间 1939 和 1945, 海军造船厂建成 30 驱逐舰, 60 护卫舰, 检修和修理 3,500 船舶, 并配备了 11,000.

第二次世界大战后, 海军造船厂参与舰队的升级和修改二战船舶冷战服务. 到目前为止,从战斗, 海军造船厂在朝鲜战争和越南冲突期间没有收到很多工作.

作为削减成本的措施的一部分, 尼克松总统下令关闭的院子 1974. 许多波士顿认为,尼克松政府作出这一决定惩罚马萨诸塞州, 唯一的国家对他的投票 1972.

由于闭幕, 大部分设施已回收利用和开发. 三十亩,被转移到国家公园管理处,成为波士顿国家历史公园的一部分, 与使命 “海军造船解释的艺术和历史。”

干船坞 1

美国卡辛杨在干船坞 1

美国卡辛杨在干船坞 1

干船坞 1 被前两个干船坞中的一个投入美国, 对有幸成为第一只一个星期错过了 – 这样的区分时,诺福克, 弗吉尼亚州. 干船坞是很重要的,避免了繁琐的, 昂贵和危险的倒向或“冻胀下”船舶上工作的船体的过程. 倒向需要在其一侧倾斜的船舶超过, 这使巨大的压力在它的船身,只露出一面的时间. 其实, 有时候船会的倒向process.2下沉过程中

需要进行干船坞从美国海军的开始被理解, 但施工才开始 1827 然后历时6年完成. 该项目的设计和控制下 Loammi鲍德温, 考虑土木工程的在美国的父亲.

花岗岩为这个项目, 以及干船坞在诺福克, 来自昆西 - 即提供用于邦克山纪念碑的花岗岩同一站点. 干船坞 1 在六月开幕 1833 和它的第一个客户是宪法号.

有迹象表明,呈现怎样的干船坞工程,并说明了另一种方法倒向优秀的解释性显示器.

USS卡辛年轻

在USS卡辛年轻是二战弗莱彻级驱逐舰委托的最后一天 1943. 她曾与区别在太平洋, 包括莱特湾战役期间. 她在收到两个独立的神风攻击伤害 1945, 其中一人死亡22人受伤四十五水手.

游客可以参观船, 带或不带导游. ID是必需的.

卡辛​​年轻的网站

在干船坞的照片 1 上面部分显示了USS卡辛年轻.

穆斯特楼

穆斯特楼

穆斯特楼

有趣的八面穆斯特House酒店建于 1852 并为海军工厂的行政大楼. 时钟和钟被用来组装文职雇员工作,而当时大部分工人没有戴手表.

走绳走绳

绳子一直是船舶的基本要素, 所以有质量和生产控制是美国海军的战略计划的一个关键方面. 宪法号, 例如, 需要四个多英里长的绳索的.

在海军工厂的Ropewalk路上生产的大部分之间采用美国海军的索具 1838 和 1955 – 在 1942 单独制作过 4 万英镑! 它有绳铺设面积的¼英里, 允许其产生多达绳 1200 英尺长的绳索被扭曲成一条直线. 其创新的蒸汽为动力的机械能产生高得多的强度比绳手工技术. 该Ropewalk路上一直使用到 1971.

虽然建筑仍然屹立不倒, 它登上了没有多看. 有在国家公园管理处游客中心解释性显示您通过登机宪法号前走. 这些解释绳子的制作过程,并说明绳子走在操作.

指挥官之家

指挥官的家

指挥官之家

指挥官之家始建于 1805 并且是家庭对海军工厂的指挥官和他们的家人多年. 它已经举办5中美. 总统和许多政要和外国元首.

有没有内部的游客不允许.

 

分享和欣赏:
  • Print
  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • del.icio.us
  • Facebook
  • Yahoo! Buzz
  • Twitter
  • Google Bookmarks
关于管理

请与我连接
谷歌

Charlestown Navy Yard – Freedom Trail Stop with Old Ironsides

Charlestown Navy Yard

Charlestown Navy Yard – On The Freedom Trail

Select your language to auto-translate:

EnglishEspañolFrançaisDeutschItalianoDansk中文(简体)中文(漢字)日本語한국어PortuguêsTürkçeالعربية

 

 

US Naval Facility Since 1800

The Charlestown Navy Yard is home to the USS Constitution, the USS Cassin Young, one of the first two dry docks in the US, and the USS Constitution Museum.

Great fun. Plan for a several hour visit.

The Museum is free, donation requested

Open 9-5 daily. Closed Christmas, New Year’s Day and Thanksgiving

National Park Service website

Official Charlestown Navy Yard website

National Park Service Maritime History website

USS Constitution Museum website

Museum phone: (617) 426-1812(617) 426-1812

Public transportation: Green or Orange line to North Station (in Boston proper). Alternative, 93 Bus to Sullivan Station Bunker Hill.

Plan at least an hour for a cursory view of the Navy Yard. If visiting the Navy Yard along with Constitution, plan 2+ hours.

Background Information

In 1800, the government purchased the land for the Charlestown Navy Yard at Moulton’s Point, and established the yard itself shortly thereafter. (Moulton’s Point is where the British troops landed for their attack on the Patriots during the Battle of Bunker Hill.) In 1814, the yard launched the first US ship of the line, the USS Independence.

Multiple Navy Yard ships saw service in the Civil War – however, it was primarily a repair and storage facility until the 1890s. At that time, it started to build steel-hulled ships.

The Navy Yard reached its height of activity during World War II, with peak employment in 1943 of 50,128 men and women – working around the clock, 7 days a week. The yard then covered 130 acres with 86 buildings and 3.5 million square feet of floor space. A second dry dock was also added.

During this peak period, the Navy Yard could build a Destroyer Escort in four months and an LST (Landing Ship Tank) in less than four weeks. Overall, between 1939 and 1945, the Navy Yard built 30 destroyers, 60 escort vessels, overhauled and repaired 3,500 ships, and outfitted over 11,000.

After World War II, the Navy Yard was involved with upgrading the fleet and modifying World War II ships for Cold War service. Being so far from the fighting, the Navy Yard did not receive much work during the Korean and Vietnam conflicts.

As part of cost cutting measures, President Nixon ordered the yard closed in 1974. Many Bostonians believe the Nixon administration made that decision to punish Massachusetts, the only state to vote against him in 1972.

Since the closing, the bulk of the facility has been recycled and developed. The thirty acres that were transferred to the National Park Service became part of the Boston National Historical Park, with a mission “to interpret the art and history of naval shipbuilding.”

Dry Dock 1

US Cassin Young in Dry Dock 1

US Cassin Young in Dry Dock 1

Dry Dock 1 was one of the first two dry docks put into service the United States, missing out on the honor of being first by only a week – that distinction when to Norfolk, Virginia. Dry docks are important to avoid the tedious, expensive and dangerous process of careening or “heaving down” a ship to work on its hull. Careening requires leaning a ship over on its side, which puts great stress on its hull and only exposes one side at a time. In fact, sometimes ships would sink during the careening process.2

The need for dry docks was understood from the beginning of the US Navy, but construction did not begin until 1827 and then took six years to complete. The project was designed and under the control of Loammi Baldwin, considered the father of civil engineering in the United States.

The granite for this project, as well as the dry dock in Norfolk, came from Quincy – the same site that provided the granite used for the Bunker Hill Monument. Dry Dock 1 opened in June of 1833 and its first customer was the USS Constitution.

There are excellent interpretive displays that show how the dry dock works and illustrates the alternative careening method.

USS Cassin Young

The USS Cassin Young is a World War II Fletcher-Class Destroyer commissioned on the last day of 1943. She served with distinction in the Pacific, including during the Battle of Leyte Gulf. She received damage during two separate kamikaze attacks during 1945, one of which killed twenty-two and wounded forty-five sailors.

Visitors can tour the ship, with or without guides. ID is required.

Cassin Young website

The photograph in the Dry Dock 1 section above shows the USS Cassin Young.

Muster House

Muster House

Muster House

The interesting eight-sided Muster House was built in 1852 and was an administrative building for the Navy Yard. The clock and bell were used to assemble civilian employees for work at a time when most workers did not wear watches.

Rope WalkRope Walk

Rope has always been is an essential element of ships, so having quality and production control was a key aspect of the US Navy’s strategic plan. The USS Constitution, for example, requires over four miles of rope.

The Ropewalk at the Navy Yard produced most of the cordage used by US Navy between 1838 and 1955 – in 1942 alone producing over 4 million pounds! It had a ¼ mile of rope-laying area, allowing it to produce rope of up to 1200 feet in length as rope is twisted in a straight line. Its innovative steam-powered machinery could produce rope of much higher strength than manual techniques. The Ropewalk was used until 1971.

Although the building is still standing, it is boarded up and there is not much to see. There are interpretive displays in the National Park Service Visitor Center that you walk through prior to boarding the USS Constitution. These explain the rope making process and illustrate the rope walk in operation.

Commandant’s House

Commandant's House

Commandant’s House

The Commandant’s House was built in 1805 and was home to the Navy Yard’s commanders and their families for many years. It has hosted five U.S. presidents and many dignitaries and foreign heads of state.

There are no visitors allowed inside.

 

Share and Enjoy:
  • Print
  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • del.icio.us
  • Facebook
  • Yahoo! Buzz
  • Twitter
  • Google Bookmarks
About admin

Please connect with me on
Google+