Charlestown Navy Yard – Freedom Trail Stop mit Old Ironside

Charlestown Navy Yard

Charlestown Navy Yard – On The Freedom Trail

Wählen Sie Ihre Sprache zu übersetzen auto-:

EnglishEspañolFrançaisDeutschItalianoDansk中文(简体)中文(漢字)日本語한국어PortuguêsTürkçeالعربية

 

 

US Naval Anlage seit 1800

Die Charlestown Navy Yard ist die Heimat der USS Constitution, die USS Cassin Young, einer der ersten zwei Trockendocks in den USA, und die USS Constitution Museum.

Viel Spaß. Plan für eine mehrstündige Besuch.

Das Museum ist kostenlos, Spende erbeten

Geöffnet 9-5 täglich. Geschlossen Weihnachten, Neujahr und Thanksgiving

National Park Service Webseite

Offizielle Charlestown Navy Yard Website

National Park Service Maritime History website

USS Constitution Museum Website

Museum phone: (617) 426-1812(617) 426-1812

Öffentlicher Verkehr: Grün oder Orange Linie North Station (in Boston richtigen). Alternative, 93 Bus Sullivan Bahnhof Bunker Hill.

Planen Sie mindestens eine Stunde für einen flüchtigen Blick auf die Navy Yard. Nachdem der Besuch der Navy Yard mit Verfassung, Plan 2+ Stunden.

Hintergrundinformationen

In 1800, Die Regierung kaufte das Land für die Charlestown Navy Yard am Moulton s Point, und gründete die Werft selbst kurz danach. (Moulton s Point ist, wo die britischen Truppen landeten für ihren Angriff auf die Patriots während der Schlacht von Bunker Hill.) In 1814, Die Werft hat die erste US-Schiff der Linie, Die USS Independence.

Mehrere Navy Yard Schiffe sahen Service im Bürgerkrieg – jedoch, Es war in erster Linie eine Reparatur-und Lagerhalle bis in die 1890er. Damals, es fing an mit Stahlrumpf Schiffe bauen.

Die Navy Yard erreichte ihren Höhepunkt der Tätigkeit während des Zweiten Weltkriegs, mit Peak Beschäftigung in 1943 von 50,128 Männer und Frauen – rund um die Uhr, 7 Tag der Woche. Der Hof dann abgedeckt 130 Hektar mit 86 Gebäude und 3.5 Millionen Quadratmeter Nutzfläche. Ein zweites Trockendock wurde ebenfalls hinzugefügt.

Während dieser Hochphase, die Navy Yard bauen konnte ein Destroyer Escort in vier Monaten und eine LST (Landing Ship Tank-) in weniger als vier Wochen. Insgesamt, zwischen 1939 und 1945, die Navy Yard gebaut 30 Zerstörer, 60 Geleitfahrzeuge, überholt und repariert 3,500 Schiffe, und ausgestattet über 11,000.

Nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg, die Navy Yard wurde mit dem Upgrade der Flotte und zur Änderung des Zweiten Weltkriegs Schiffe Kalten Krieges Service beteiligt. Als so weit von den Kämpfen, die Navy Yard nicht erhalten viel Arbeit während der Korea-und Vietnamkrieg Konflikten.

Als Teil der Sparmaßnahmen, Präsident Nixon ordnete die Werft geschlossen 1974. Viele Bostonians glauben, dass die Nixon-Administration hat diese Entscheidung nach Massachusetts zu bestrafen, der einzige Staat, gegen ihn in Abstimmung 1972.

Da das Schließen, der Großteil der Anlage wurde recycelt und entwickelt. Die 30 Hektar, die mit dem National Park Service übertragen wurden wurde ein Teil des Boston National Historical Park, mit einer Mission “die Kunst und Geschichte der Marineschiffbau interpretieren.”

Dry Dock 1

US-Cassin Young in Dry Dock 1

US-Cassin Young in Dry Dock 1

Dry Dock 1 war einer der ersten zwei Trockendocks in Dienst den Vereinigten Staaten setzen, muss nicht auf die Ehre zuteil, als erste von nur einer Woche – diese Unterscheidung, wenn nach Norfolk, Virginia. Trockendocks sind wichtig, um zu vermeiden, die die langwierige, teure und gefährliche Prozess der rast oder "wogenden down" ein Schiff, auf seinem Rumpf arbeiten. Rast erfordert lehnte ein Schiff auf die Seite, , die großen Stress setzt auf seinem Rumpf und zu einer Zeit macht nur eine Seite. Tatsächlich, manchmal Schiffe würden während der rast process.2 sinken

Die Notwendigkeit für Trockendocks von Anfang an der US Navy verstanden, aber der Bau erst beginnen 1827 und dann dauerte sechs Jahre in Anspruch. Das Projekt wurde unter der Kontrolle konzipiert und Loammi Baldwin, als Vater des Bauingenieurwesens in den Vereinigten Staaten.

Der Granit für dieses Projekt, sowie das Trockendock in Norfolk, kam von Quincy - die gleiche Seite, die den Granit für das Bunker Hill Monument verwendet werden, sofern. Dry Dock 1 im Juni eröffnet 1833 und seinen ersten Kunden war die USS Constitution.

Es gibt ausgezeichnete interpretativen Displays, die wie die Trockendock funktioniert und zeigt die alternative Methode Careening zeigen.

USS Cassin Young

Die USS Cassin Young ist ein Weltkrieg Fletcher-Klasse Zerstörer am letzten Tag der Auftrags 1943. Sie diente mit Auszeichnung in den Pazifik, auch während der Schlacht im Golf von Leyte. Sie erhielt Schäden während zwei Kamikaze-Angriffe während 1945, von denen zweiundzwanzig getötet und verwundet fünfundvierzig Matrosen.

Besucher können das Schiff Tour, mit oder ohne Führer. ID erforderlich.

Cassin Young Website

Das Foto in der Dry Dock 1 Abschnitt oben zeigt die USS Cassin Young.

Muster Haus

Muster Haus

Muster Haus

Die interessantachtseitige Muster Haus wurde gebaut 1852 und war ein Verwaltungsgebäude für die Navy Yard. Die Uhr und der Glocke wurden verwendet, um zivile Mitarbeiter für die Arbeit in einer Zeit, montieren, wenn die meisten Arbeiter nicht tragen Uhren.

Rope WalkRope Walk

Rope war schon immer ist ein wesentliches Element der Schiffe, so mit Qualitäts-und Produktionskontrolle war ein wesentlicher Aspekt der strategischen Plan der US-Marine. Die USS Constitution, beispielsweise, erfordert mehr als vier Meilen von Seil.

Die Ropewalk bei der Marinewerft meisten der Kordel von der US Navy zwischen verwendet produziert 1838 und 1955 – in 1942 alleine produzieren mehr als 4 Millionen Pfund! Es hatte eine ¼ Meile von Seil-Liegefläche, ermöglicht es, das Seil von bis zu produzieren 1200 Fuß in der Länge als Seil in einer geraden Linie verdreht ist. Seine innovative Dampf betriebene Maschinen konnte Seil von viel höherer Festigkeit herzustellen als die manuelle Techniken. Die Ropewalk wurde bis zur Verwendung 1971.

Obwohl das Gebäude noch steht, es ist mit Brettern vernagelt und es gibt nicht viel zu sehen. Es gibt Interpretations Anzeigen in der National Park Service Visitor Center, das Sie durch vor dem Einsteigen die USS Constitution gehen. Dazu erklären die Seilherstellung und veranschaulichen den Balanceakt in Betrieb.

Kommandantenhaus

Kommandantenhaus

Kommandantenhaus

Die Kommandantenhaus wurde gebaut 1805 und war die Heimat der Navy Yard Kommandanten und ihre Familien seit vielen Jahren. Es hat fünf U.S. gehostet. Präsidenten und viele Würdenträger und ausländische Staats-.

Es sind keine Besucher erlaubt im Inneren.

 

Share and Enjoy:
  • Print
  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • del.icio.us
  • Facebook
  • Yahoo! Buzz
  • Twitter
  • Google Bookmarks
Über admin

Bitte verbinden Sie mit mir auf
Google

Charlestown Navy Yard – Freedom Trail Stop with Old Ironsides

Charlestown Navy Yard

Charlestown Navy Yard – On The Freedom Trail

Select your language to auto-translate:

EnglishEspañolFrançaisDeutschItalianoDansk中文(简体)中文(漢字)日本語한국어PortuguêsTürkçeالعربية

 

 

US Naval Facility Since 1800

The Charlestown Navy Yard is home to the USS Constitution, the USS Cassin Young, one of the first two dry docks in the US, and the USS Constitution Museum.

Great fun. Plan for a several hour visit.

The Museum is free, donation requested

Open 9-5 daily. Closed Christmas, New Year’s Day and Thanksgiving

National Park Service website

Official Charlestown Navy Yard website

National Park Service Maritime History website

USS Constitution Museum website

Museum phone: (617) 426-1812(617) 426-1812

Public transportation: Green or Orange line to North Station (in Boston proper). Alternative, 93 Bus to Sullivan Station Bunker Hill.

Plan at least an hour for a cursory view of the Navy Yard. If visiting the Navy Yard along with Constitution, plan 2+ hours.

Background Information

In 1800, the government purchased the land for the Charlestown Navy Yard at Moulton’s Point, and established the yard itself shortly thereafter. (Moulton’s Point is where the British troops landed for their attack on the Patriots during the Battle of Bunker Hill.) In 1814, the yard launched the first US ship of the line, the USS Independence.

Multiple Navy Yard ships saw service in the Civil War – however, it was primarily a repair and storage facility until the 1890s. At that time, it started to build steel-hulled ships.

The Navy Yard reached its height of activity during World War II, with peak employment in 1943 of 50,128 men and women – working around the clock, 7 days a week. The yard then covered 130 acres with 86 buildings and 3.5 million square feet of floor space. A second dry dock was also added.

During this peak period, the Navy Yard could build a Destroyer Escort in four months and an LST (Landing Ship Tank) in less than four weeks. Overall, between 1939 and 1945, the Navy Yard built 30 destroyers, 60 escort vessels, overhauled and repaired 3,500 ships, and outfitted over 11,000.

After World War II, the Navy Yard was involved with upgrading the fleet and modifying World War II ships for Cold War service. Being so far from the fighting, the Navy Yard did not receive much work during the Korean and Vietnam conflicts.

As part of cost cutting measures, President Nixon ordered the yard closed in 1974. Many Bostonians believe the Nixon administration made that decision to punish Massachusetts, the only state to vote against him in 1972.

Since the closing, the bulk of the facility has been recycled and developed. The thirty acres that were transferred to the National Park Service became part of the Boston National Historical Park, with a mission “to interpret the art and history of naval shipbuilding.”

Dry Dock 1

US Cassin Young in Dry Dock 1

US Cassin Young in Dry Dock 1

Dry Dock 1 was one of the first two dry docks put into service the United States, missing out on the honor of being first by only a week – that distinction when to Norfolk, Virginia. Dry docks are important to avoid the tedious, expensive and dangerous process of careening or “heaving down” a ship to work on its hull. Careening requires leaning a ship over on its side, which puts great stress on its hull and only exposes one side at a time. In fact, sometimes ships would sink during the careening process.2

The need for dry docks was understood from the beginning of the US Navy, but construction did not begin until 1827 and then took six years to complete. The project was designed and under the control of Loammi Baldwin, considered the father of civil engineering in the United States.

The granite for this project, as well as the dry dock in Norfolk, came from Quincy – the same site that provided the granite used for the Bunker Hill Monument. Dry Dock 1 opened in June of 1833 and its first customer was the USS Constitution.

There are excellent interpretive displays that show how the dry dock works and illustrates the alternative careening method.

USS Cassin Young

The USS Cassin Young is a World War II Fletcher-Class Destroyer commissioned on the last day of 1943. She served with distinction in the Pacific, including during the Battle of Leyte Gulf. She received damage during two separate kamikaze attacks during 1945, one of which killed twenty-two and wounded forty-five sailors.

Visitors can tour the ship, with or without guides. ID is required.

Cassin Young website

The photograph in the Dry Dock 1 section above shows the USS Cassin Young.

Muster House

Muster House

Muster House

The interesting eight-sided Muster House was built in 1852 and was an administrative building for the Navy Yard. The clock and bell were used to assemble civilian employees for work at a time when most workers did not wear watches.

Rope WalkRope Walk

Rope has always been is an essential element of ships, so having quality and production control was a key aspect of the US Navy’s strategic plan. The USS Constitution, for example, requires over four miles of rope.

The Ropewalk at the Navy Yard produced most of the cordage used by US Navy between 1838 and 1955 – in 1942 alone producing over 4 million pounds! It had a ¼ mile of rope-laying area, allowing it to produce rope of up to 1200 feet in length as rope is twisted in a straight line. Its innovative steam-powered machinery could produce rope of much higher strength than manual techniques. The Ropewalk was used until 1971.

Although the building is still standing, it is boarded up and there is not much to see. There are interpretive displays in the National Park Service Visitor Center that you walk through prior to boarding the USS Constitution. These explain the rope making process and illustrate the rope walk in operation.

Commandant’s House

Commandant's House

Commandant’s House

The Commandant’s House was built in 1805 and was home to the Navy Yard’s commanders and their families for many years. It has hosted five U.S. presidents and many dignitaries and foreign heads of state.

There are no visitors allowed inside.

 

Share and Enjoy:
  • Print
  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • del.icio.us
  • Facebook
  • Yahoo! Buzz
  • Twitter
  • Google Bookmarks
About admin

Please connect with me on
Google+